Constitution – Chapter 5 – Cabinet


53.- (1) There shall be for Saint Christopher and Nevis a Cabinet of Ministers which shall consist of the Prime Minister and the other Ministers.

(2) At any time when the office of Attorney-General is a public office the Attorney-General shall, by virtue of holding or acting in that office, be a member of the Cabinet in addition to the Minister.

(3) The functions of the Cabinet shall be to advice the Governor-General in the government of Saint Christopher and Nevis and the Cabinet shall be collectively responsible to the National Assembly for any advice given to the Governor-General by or under the general authority of the Cabinet and for all things done by or under the authority of any Minister in the execution of his office.

(4) Subsection (3) shall not apply in relation to-

a) the appointment and removal from office of Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries, the assignment of responsibility to any Minister under section 54, or the authorization of another Minister to perform the functions of the Prime Minister during absence or illness;

b) the dissolution of Parliament;

c) the matters referred to in section 66 (which relate to the prerogative of mercy);or

d) in relation to the government of the island of Nevis, any matter in respect of which parliament has no power to make laws for the island of Nevis.


<<Previous Section Chapter Index Next Section>>


Back to top