The Nevis Island Government is a democratic operation based on the Westminister Parliamentary system. The constitution that governs the federation was established in 1983 when the islands gained independence from the United Kingdom.

The Island of Nevis has it’s own unicameral legislature, consisting of the Deputy Governor General, the representative of Her Majesty, and members of the Nevis Island Administration.

The Nevis Island Administration has a Cabinet of Ministers consisting of a Premier, a Deputy Premier, other elected members and a maximum of two nominated members. The above listed link provides a profile of the members of the Nevis Island Administration cabinet.

 Her  Honour Mrs. Hyleeta Liburd, M.H.

The Honourable Mark Anthony Graham Brantley - Premier

Minister of Finance, Statistics, Economic Planning, Human Resources, Industry, Trade and Consumer Affairs, Tourism, Public Utilities and Energy, Foreign Investments, Government Information Service and Nevis Television

The Honourable Eric Rohan Evelyn - Deputy Premier

Minister of Agriculture, Lands, Natural Resources, Fisheries, Cooperatives, Culture and Housing

The Honourable Spencer Rudolph Brand

Minister of Communications, Works, Water Services, Physical Planning and Environment, Posts, Labour and Disaster

The Honourable U-Thant Troy Joval Tajeda Liburd

Senator with ministerial responsibility for Education, Information Technology, Library Services, Youth and Sports

The Honourable Mervil Jahnel Nisbett

Senator with ministerial responsibility for Health, Gender Affairs, Community Affairs and Social Empowerment

Back to top