Premier hails Nevis Culturama 2012 Festival a success

Masqueraders during the Parade of troupes
Masqueraders during the Parade of troupes
Charlestown, Nevis (Monday, August 13, 2012)–Premier of Nevis, the Hon. Joseph Parry has hailed Culturama 2012 a success, and congratulated all of its winners.

“This year’s Culturama was incident-free, the attendance was extremely well, and the shows were of top quality,” the Premier said.

The Hon. Joseph Parry also thanked all of the committee members for ensuring a great Culturama Season, and the many Nevisians who reside abroad and came back home in their numbers to celebrate Culturama.

The Premier said there were many persons who have not been on Nevis in many years, and commended him on all the positive programs and projects that his government has pursued, and which are manifested on the ground. He said he was told by many returning nationals to “stay on course and continue with the progress of the island”
Ms. Talented Youth winner , Mickelsea Scarbourough
He also congratulated the Police Force, who he said “did an extremely good job”.

“I received excellent reports from many persons about the Police Force, and I congratulate them and the sanitation officers who came out and cleared Charlestown, and by the time the next morning came, the place was spic and span”, said Premier Parry.

He further intimated that work on Culturama 2013 will start in October 2012 with marketing strategies, a plan for the calender of events, fund-raisers, and talks with potential sponsors.

“Yes, Culturama 2012 was a grand success, but I know 2013 will be even better,” concluded Premier Parry.

Meanwhile, the Culturama Secretariat has released the names of Culturama 2012 winners:
Ms. Culturama Queen, Denecia Smithen and her court
Mr. Kool – Mr. Kevin Adams
Ms. Culture Swim wear – Ms. Rosalyn Berkley
Mr. Talented Youth – Mr. Zaykeese Smith (Charlestown Primary)
Ms. Talented Youth – Ms. Mickelsea Scarborough – (Charlestown Primary)
Junior Calypso Monarch – Scribbles
Senior Calypso Monarch – Keith “Dis & Dat” Scarborough, 1st runner up- the Inspirer, 2nd runner-up – Pupa Wheeler
Ms. Culture Queen – Ms. Denesia Smithen, 1st runner-up – Ms Techyna David and 2nd runner-up – Ms. Faith Daniel.
School troupe winner- St. James Primary school and Runner up is the Ivor Walters Primary school
Parade Troupe winner– Sailing in Memory of Christena and Runner up is Ultrasonic girls united.
Road March Winner – Ultrasonics with Ultraholics, Runner-up Odisi with Ready for Culture.
Premier of Nevis, Hon. Joseph Parry and Culturama Queen Contestants
Culturama 2012 was observed under the theme: “Our Identity, Our Survival – 2K12 Culturama Festival”

Back to top