Premier hosts Cocktail for Culturama Festival 2012 Contestants

Charlestown, Nevis (Wednesday, July 25, 2012)–The Premier of Nevis, Hon. Joseph Parry, called for a “crime free Culturama” on Tuesday night.

“I want young people to come out and witness the culture, enjoy the shows, dance to the music but do not cause any problems as we want Culturama to be crime free.”

The Hon. Joseph Parry was speaking during a cocktail party hosted by the Honourable Premier and his wife Myrthlyn Parry for the 2012 Culturama Festival contestants at the Nevis Performing Art’s Centre prestigious courtyard.

The Premier reminded the contestants to take the Emancipation Day seriously, “August Monday is a major part of our history and this festival rejoices in the recognition of that day and we must celebrate it,” said Mr. Parry.
The cocktail featured speeches by others including the Minister of Culture- the Hon. Hensley Daniel, Culturama Secretariat- Mr. Abonathy Liburd, this years Chairman of Culturama- Mr. Halstead Byron as well as Chairperson from the Ms. Culturama Queen show, Ms. Swimwear show and the Mr. Kool contest- Ms. Jaedee Caines.

The Premier encouraged the contestants to remain focused, to embrace the festival as it brings memories of “our history”.

Ms. Jaedee Caines, indicated that while her committees started preparations late, they are ready and looking forward to participating in these great shows.

The six young women competing for the coveted Miss Culture title – Ronice Williams, Micaihla Lawrence, Teshyna David, Grace Percival, Faith Daniel and Denesia Smithen, while four will compete for the Miss Culture Swimwear title – Tera Griffin, Franale Holder, Tamenelle Browne and Roslyn Berkely.
The four young men competing for the Mr. Kool title are: Loronzo Phillip, Reece Walters, Daquani Newton and Kevin Adams.

The contestants are sponsored by local businesses including – Coastal Air Transport, SKNA National Bank Ltd, Development Bank of Saint Kitts Nevis and Anguilla, NEVLEC, Carib Brewery SKN- Ltd, Nevis Housing and Land Development Corporation, Oualie Masonry Products, LIME, Nevis Solid Waste Management Authority, Nevis Cultural Development Foundation and the Nevis Culturama Committee.

Back to top